Get a discount & don’t get sick

I’m not a doctor, so I’m not going to lecture you on why you should get a flu shot. I have an 8 week old niece and I see her every day. So I’ll keep on getting my flu shot for her sake.

I don’t really like getting shots. But if I’m going to get one, I might as well get a cheap one or get some added financial benefit for getting stuck with a needle.

Here’s what I’ve found:

  • Safeway – Safeway pharmacies offer walk-in & by-appointment vaccinations AND you get a coupon for 10% off of one grocery shopping trip. If your insurance covers your shot, then it’s sort of like you’re making money here.
  • CVS – I still call this place Longs, because that’s what I grew up with. Anyway, CVS is offering a 20% off savings pass with a flu shot. Again, if your insurance is paying for your shot, you’re getting decent kick-back here.
  • Walgreens (for those with insurance) – Walgreens isn’t offering a discount to those with insurance, but they are making you feel better about getting your flu shot.  They have the Get a Shot. Give a Shot. program.  For each flu shot given at Walgreens, one lifesaving vaccine will be given to a child in a developing country through the UN Foundation’s Shot@Life campaign.
  • Walgreens (for those without insurance or who are underinsured) – Walgreens will be providing more than 400,000 flu shots with vouchers provided by The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Individuals who are eligible for vouchers can call 1-800-925-4733 to find the nearest Walgreens location offering flu shot vouchers, as availability is on a first come, first served basis while supplies last.
  • Costco – If you don’t have health insurance or your insurance won’t cover the shot, Costco offers the lowest retail price on the shot at $14.99.

I’ve already called and confirmed that my insurance covers the entire cost of my flu shot, so I’m making my Safeway shopping list.

Leave a Reply

